Different Conditions but Same Perspectives: Sharing Because the Sentiments Apply to Us All – I Don’t Want Awareness (I Want Acceptance) by Anonymously Autistic

There is one short rule that should regulate human relationships. All that you see, both divine and human, is one. We are parts of the same great body. Nature created us from the same source and to the same end. She imbued us with mutual affection and sociability, she taught us to be fair and just, to suffer injury rather than to inflict it. She bid us extend or hands to all in need of help. Let that well-known line be in our heart and on our lips: Homo sum, humani nihil a me alienum puto.”

– Seneca

It doesn’t matter what you are dealing with (be it a condition like autism or an illness like CRPS), there is one thing we all strive for and that is acceptance and understanding from our fellow human beings!

The below blog post is written by an individual with autism, but her experiences and desires mirror many of my own. Especially those experiences I have had since developing CRPS. She talks about awareness versus acceptance and she makes an excellent point about how you can be aware of something without understanding it or accepting it. Awareness is a superficial concept. To truly get people to care they have to first be able to understand and the only way we can get people to truly understand is by sharing our experiences. This is why posts like the one written by Anonymously Autistic are so important. Here is another perspective that shows that we are all equally human no matter our quirks, limitations, disabilities, and the millions of other differences we each have. 

Homo sum, humani nihil a me alienum puto!
I am a human, I consider nothing that is human alien to me!

-Terence

We are all trying to make our way through life to the best of our abilities!

Thanks Anonymously Autistic for inspiring me and for writing the blog post below!

I have written my entire blog around the theme of being “Anonymous” because many Autistic people are invisible, unseen and anonymous in the world. Autism is an “invisible disability” meaning you can’t tell someone is Autistic unless you ask them (or know Autism VERY well and are paying close attention). People have awareness of Autism […]

via World Mental Health Awareness – I Don’t Want Awareness (I Want Acceptance) — Anonymously Autistic

One thought on “Different Conditions but Same Perspectives: Sharing Because the Sentiments Apply to Us All – I Don’t Want Awareness (I Want Acceptance) by Anonymously Autistic

Leave a Reply

