How Do You Recapture Your Passion?

I don’t have an answer to the question I’m posing. I haven’t found the solution I am looking for. What I know is how much I struggle each day to find the passion I once had.

I used to love reading and I read a lot. I loved it so much that I had a blog dedicated to books and even after I let my blog gather dust I still read all the time. Since my injury nearly two years ago, I haven’t been able to finish a single book. I used to be able to read a book in a day and I loved it. Between pain medications and the general feelings of ill I have now, I can’t concentrate on books. I read articles and blogs and generally any short written works, but books seem out of the question. How do I recapture that love and passion for the written word that I once had?

I want to feel that simple joy I used to get when reading something new, but I just don’t know how to anymore. I try to stay positive and focus on the little things, which does help some. I can capture a small part of my joy and passion when I hear a new song, write a new blog, or capture my cats in a silly moment. It just doesn’t have the long lived and all consuming passion that a good book will provide.

I so desperately want to lose myself in a good story. I miss the feeling of being transported from my daily troubles and being so consumed by a character or plot that I can forget about my own anxieties and pains.

Oh Dear Books, I hope you won’t stay dusty on the shelves for too much longer!

To counterbalance my extremely negative post, here are some pictures of Stormy catching cat treats that I tossed to him:

 

Leave a Reply

